Peace Sweater # 12

My goal has been to have this sweater finished in time for the county fair, which would guarantee it was ready for wool contest, and give me time to focus on the pants that would be sewn to go with it. I got a little side tracked with the sleeve problems, but knew that doing the finish work would be perfect for this past week while at String Camp. I had hour long breaks between accompanying groups, and this was the perfect thing to work in in between. 

That meant I had to get crackin’ on the blocking, which is quite simple when done in the Norwegian wool fashion. No washing, just steam on a towel on the ironing board, with a few pins for the necessary hems that might curl. I decided to block in sections, so I did one piece each day, allowing each section to cool before turning it. I could hem the completed piece while the other was finishing, then sew while yet another piece was on the ironing board.

That worked perfectly, and by Friday morning I found myself knitting up the collar stitches! Saturday I picked up two lovely buttons on sale and Sunday I finished the collar. Today, I had a long list of things to do, many that I wasn’t very excited about, but I was determined to persevere, and here is the partial result of my “sticking to the knitting!”

I’m not 100% on the zipper yet, but I’ll do a little press before I do any ripping. I have crocheted my loops and will attach them along with the buttons while I wait for Girl #2. We are going to Denver tomorrow for her visa interview. Alas, that means that I’ll have to visit the Denver Fabric Warehouse to buy some wool to match this sweater. Oh well, I’ll try to bear it!πŸ˜‰

Pattern: Dale of Norway Peace DG1501

Yarn: KnitPicks Stroll Fingering in White  and Wonderland Heather

 

28 thoughts on “Peace Sweater # 12

  1. Kathy this is incredible!! Don’t even try to tell me it was easy because I will not believe you! If I made a sweater like this I would wear it every day and I would also tell everyone – friends and strangers – that I made it. I wouldn’t even wait for them to ask I would just start conversations with that. Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. OK, I won’t!πŸ˜‰ it was a challenge for sure, but I kept my eye on the next row, instead of the whole thing, and interspersed it with a dish cloth periodically, and now it is finished!! The two things that made a big difference was using a highlighter on the charts to keep my place, and penciling in the decreases onto the chart so I didn’t have to think about where I was. I think the sleeves are going to be too long (not putting it on until after the fair, since I know the body fits), but I think I can run just a bit of elastic and the cuff will bell just a tad. I seem to have tiny wrists for the rest of my arms, so I think that will solve it if they are long. You will be happy to know that I bought Cardinal wool in Denver….😳

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

