Book Review–The First Princess of Wales

Karen Harper’s historical novel is about Joan of Kent, who lived in the 1300’s and eventually married the Black Prince, Edward of Wales, and was the mother of Richard II. To say she had a checkered past, is to put it mildly, but considering the prince waited to marry until he was nearly 30, in an age where one could easily be dead by 30,  you can’t help but wonder if this was indeed a love that spanned time! 

This story did get me looking up all sorts of stuff, more info on Edward, Joan, surcotes, and kirtles, even the plague! It covered battles, described knights and their chargers, medieval warfare, lots of interesting fodder for a history buff like me. I didn’t care if it was close fiction or grandiose fiction, I was intrigued by the court politics, power of the King and everything else from a time period with which I am ill acquainted.

For a medieval novice, I found it interesting, and it piqued my interest enough to have me looking up the real history, so I call it a win!

9 thoughts on “Book Review–The First Princess of Wales

    1. I read some more historical stuff yesterday, and it sounds like the books IS actually pretty close to the mark, as for main points, which makes it even more interesting. Prince Edward really had some pluck, and really loved Joan to hold out as he did!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

