Peace Sweater # 10

I did lay this project aside for awhile because it wasn’t going very well. I was unhappy with how the sleeve ballooned when I switched to knitting in the round. The cause was the wrong sized needles. I really needed size 2 1/2, and I didn’t have them and couldn’t find any. Switching from 2’s to the round 3’s was just too sudden. Laying it aside must have been exactly what I needed, because one morning I woke up and was able to work out both the needle challenge and the switch from knitting flat to round in just a few minutes. (In my head, that is!)


The test of course, was to see how it would look, and the only way to know for sure was to start knitting. So, after considering for a day or two, I gritted my teeth and frogged the entire sleeve, which had about 20 more rounds than the photo above. I have outlined my steps here, so that I have them for the second sleeve, and who knows? There might be someone else out there trying to figure out a similar problem (🙄 yeah, right!)

A. Cast on using no. 2 straight pins, mark the center with a stitch marker. This will eventually become the underside center.

B. Knit the diagrams until you reach the first round row. Transfer stitches to double pins (no. 2) and start with new yarn on the  underside center. When you reach the new topside center, add a stitch marker and close the circle. Stitch the diagrams as directed, adding stitches to the underside center as directed in step C.


C. Increase one stitch on each side of the marker (total of 2) every 6 rows 4 times, then every 4 rows 3 times.

D. Switch to the no. 3 round pins after completing the triangle on diagram H. Continue according to the directions, going back to increases every 6 rows.

By waiting until the triangle is completed, it is easier to transition to the larger needles less noticeably,  especially if one takes care to knit loosely in the rows right before, and more tightly just after.


While it sounds a little crazy, the sleeve sure looks more like it should now! Getting over that challenge has me back working on this each evening, and as you can see, I am half way, maybe a little more. The next time I get stuck, I can just start the second sleeve,  instead of putting it away until I get motivated again.

21 thoughts on “Peace Sweater # 10

  1. Don’t you love how that magic happens within our minds? Where we set something aside and then when we come back to it, we know exactly what to do? Your sweater is going to be very pretty!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This sweater looks so fancy Kathy!! I’m glad you worked out your sleeve issues. Now if you can offer me advice on the problem I have whenever I need to make two of something – socks, mittens, slippers, sleeves. After I finish the first one I completely lose interest in making the second one. I keep hoping that one sleeved sweaters will become a fashion trend someday. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I usually get pretty excited to hit the second sleeve, and get lost doing the blocking and sewing! My sleeve solution is do then both at the same time. It will take longer but that way you are within 10 rows of being done when you finish the first!

      I would pin a small card on each sleeve to mark the increases etc. so I didn’t have to think about where I was.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

