Vogue 1537

As promised, here are some photos of the completed dress and coat from Vogue 1537. I’m not thrilled with the pictures, but then I never like my pictures so whatever! I have a little tweaking to do with the dress; I’m going to take out the gray zip and out a white one in, and when I do that I think I will give the hip area another 1/4 inch on each side. I didn’t notice it before, but I think it needs it when I look at the photos.


The dress is 100% handkerchief linen, underlined with silk organza, and lined with a basic polyester. The back has a deep V with inserts, which requires a side zipper. I never did take a photo of the back. πŸ™„

The coat is a silk/linen windowpane plaid, with the linen used as contrast, and lined with the same basic polyester. The coat has covered buttons and bound buttonholes. I have the original buttons on right now, I may change them out, but I really like those big ones!

41 thoughts on “Vogue 1537

    1. Thanks Claire😊. I realized that the other day…my closet is blue and white, with a little bit of lavender and only a spot of pink, which I really like, but don’t have much of…maybe I wore them out and just didn’t replace them. Hmmm, may have to go fabric shopping again!

      Like

    1. 😊 only briefly. I am not opposed to sewing for others, and have done a bit here and there for friends over the years, but my machine is a little dodgy, so making it a business would require some major investment, and I’m not one to be willing to gamble up front!! I appreciate the confidence, though!!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. The zipper is really bothering me, even if it is nearly invisible…it is way darker than I thought at the store, so when I pull it I’ll just adjust the seams a smudge, and I think it will hang better no matter how good or bad my posture is at the moment. 😊

      Like

  1. I knew this would be wonderful but I didn’t expect perfection! It is so gorgeous and it fits like the proverbial glove. I am really, really impressed with your abilities in sewing clothing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

