SAL Update – June 25

Welcome to the Stitch Along hosted by Avis and company! We are an eclectic group of stitchers that work on individual projects and use the SAL as a way to keep our momentum, and encourage each other. I love this group! We live all around the world, so check back throughout the day to see what everyone has been working on!

My current project is to recreate my Grandmother’s hardanger piece, created between 1895 and 1905, when she was a teen/young lady living near Mo i Rana, Norway. It measures 25 inches square, and I expect I’ll be working on it for a long time.

Last update, I had barely started, so no photo…(imagine a white cloth)

I have made some progress. I did not bring it during our recent trek to California, because I have learned the hard way, that stitching hardanger in the car is NOT a good idea! It doesn’t look like a lot of stitches, because that first square requires a lot of checking, counting and following of threads across the gap, to make certain the threads will match. I was pretty excited when I came around the final corner, and was on the money!

So, here’s my progress!

DSCN1032

Check out what everyone else has been working on with these links.

AvisClaireGunCaroleLucyAnnKateJessSueConstanzeDebbieroseChristina,
MargaretCindyHelenStephLindaCatherineWendyMary MargaretTimothy

40 thoughts on “SAL Update – June 25

  1. It looks good so far! Congrats on having things come out right when you turned the corner; I can just imagine the work involved if something had been off somewhere along the line (ugh!).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You are making me want to get some hardanger out Kathy lol. You have made great progress and I know what you mean about counting. I count, count again and then go back and check once more, oh I get so paranoid about it lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. πŸ˜„ I was using pins to keep myself straight, and remind myself of what I had double checked. That really encouraged me to stop and count often, because I didn’t lose track. It was wonderful to follow those first threads all the way across and have them match!

      Like

    1. It most certainly was, though I was smarter about it than in previous projects and stopped regularly to count! Here’s the picture of my Grandma’s:
      
https://livinginrapidcity.wordpress.com/2017/06/04/sal-update-june-4/

      Like

Leave a Reply

