A Birthday Shawl

About a month ago I decided that I would like to knit a shawl for my MIL for her birthday. I looked around Pinterest and Ravelry, and found the Reyna shawl, which was a free down load designed by Noora Laivola. The shawl took one Hank (100 g) of fingering weight yarn and wasn’t  super fancy, just a simple pattern and an easy knit.

I ordered my yarn, Stroll tonal by KnitPicks, which is 75% merino wool and 25% nylon. I selected the eucalyptus color way and it arrived shortly after Memorial Day.


The knitting went fairly well, though I did have to frog  a section twice because I got off. The pattern was really easy, but every once in awhile I would forget to do my yarn overs, and then I would be off. I had hoped to finish over the weekend, so I could block it on Monday and get it I’m the mail in Tuesday. MIL will be 81 while we are in CA for Girl#2’s graduation, so I wanted to get it mailed early.

img_1162-1
I was able to block it on Monday, and finished it off with a long letter and a home made card.  A shout out to Helen over at Stitching Granny, who does Monday Mojo with cards, and helped me to see what I could do with some special papers!

31 thoughts on “A Birthday Shawl

  1. The colour is wonderful and the pattern, though “easy” on paper, finishes very elegantly. I luv shawls…..much more convenient than a sweater or even a shrug (to fend off those crazy A/C temps!!!).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It´s lovely! The funny thing is that I was looking around the net, found this pattern and decided to knit a shawl just like this one! Haven´t started yet, but I will soon. Great to see your finished version!!!!

    Like

  3. Beautiful Kathy!! This looks like it is the perfect weight and pattern for wearing indoors when the air conditioner is too chilly or in the early morning before it gets warm outside. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

