SAL UPdate-June 4

I am doing a happy dance here, because my second barn cross stitch is complete, and we will soon have a delightful set hanging downstairs in the family room! It would have been framed, but the matching mat had to be ordered and will be ready on Monday.

So here is my completed piece sans frame:

DSCN0867

What is next for my SAL stitching project? Hardanger! I’m going to make a copy of the table covering my Grandma stitched before she was married. It is probably 100 years old, and is in great shape. One little area needs repair, and I will take care of that while working on mine. Here is her work, stitched on 25 or 26 count even weave.

image

I didn’t bother with a picture of where I am now, because I have a whopping 20 stitches in, and being white on white, it’s too hard to see in the fading light! Next time!
Please take a few minute to visit the other members of this large group of stitching enthusiasts. We all choose what we wish to work on, so the variety is quite spectacular! If you are interested in joining, contact Avis.


Avis
ClaireGunCaroleLucyAnnKateJessSueConstanzeDebbieroseChristina MargaretCindyHelenStephLindaCatherineWendyMary MargaretTimothy

44 thoughts on “SAL UPdate-June 4

  1. well done on your happy dance – that barn stitched up really quickly!
    and look forward to seeing your hardanger – something I’m too scared to tackle lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s just counting, I think the biggest challenge is mapping out which way you will go to get the most out of your thread! I hadn’t thought much about that until I was trying to decide where to start yesterday!

      Like

  2. I did a very small Hardanger project decades ago….just to say I’ve tried it. Not the art form for me! It was a fascinating process, however, and the tiny ‘finish’ hangs by my back door. Definitely following you on this one. Luv your heirloom piece!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I just LOVE hardanger, but not enough to do it to the exclusion of everything else! I feel so very fortunate to have my grandma’s piece… It is the only thing I have of my Grandma J’s, who passed away when my mom was 25 and still years away from getting married.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Margaret! I don’t have any idea how long this will go on…but I know once I get in the rhythm it always goes faster than I thought it would…here’ hoping!

      Like

  3. Wow, you whipped that up in on time! Such a lovely piece, and the trio will look wonderful all together. I’ve never attempted hardanger, so am interested in seeing you do your next piece!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Catherine! The barn was only a one star, so really not that much i tricameral stuff. We’ll see how this next project goes…I’ve never done anything this large, but I’m not planning any more really technical sewing, so I should be able to make decent progress…I hope!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Congrats on the finish! …and look at the little chickens! Love it 🙂 I hope you will show us both pieces hanging together. That’s a lovely new project to start. It’s wonderful that you have something of your grandmothers like that.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Congratulations on a lovely finish. Looking forward to seeing the hardanger. I’ve done some of that myself and quite enjoyed it, although I always held my breath while I was doing the cutting 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I love the barn!! I can’t wait to see the hardanger table cover!! What a wonderful tribute to your grandmother and it’s amazing that it’s in such good condition! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope that I can get the first round correct the first time (please!) then I think I can section it off. It’s nearly 700 X 700 threads, so plenty of opportunity for screw ups!

      Like

  7. Well done on barn No2. I love your Grandma’ hardanger and look forward to seeing this one growing. I would really love some hardanger in my rota but I need to complete some of the UFO’s before I tackle anything new.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I like the barn very much but it’s the hardanger that has my heart! I’ve come across so much in all my vintage linens and have never, never tried doing it–I’ll live vicariously thru your project!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Kerry! Hardanger has my heart as well, I have never seen any form of needlework that inspires me more. It is so pristine and logical, yet so beautiful…I don’t know, I just love it!

      Like

  9. Your work is so beautiful, but I can see where you got it from – that hardanger piece is stunning. I still wish I was brave enough to attempt it, I always wanted to. Remember looking at it as a schoolgirl when I started cross stitch, wishing I could do it. Great work Kathy

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much Susan! I’m going to hunt through my stuff and find a small piece for everyone who wants to give it a try. Something to take the hard out of Hardanger!

      Like

Leave a Reply

