Book Review–John Quincy Adams

John Quincy Adams  by Harlow Giles Unger, was one of my self imposed serious reads for this summer. I knew some of his story, but the biography really captured his essence.

This was a fascinating boy/man. He witnessed the Battle for Bunker Hill from the hill above the family farm, regularly had afternoon tea with Thomas Jefferson in France, went to Russia as the diplomat’s secretary/interpreter at 14, and that’s just the first few chapters! His ethical fiber was so impressive, as was his scholarly diligence. Truly, if he ran for president today, I would have to say our country doesn’t a man of his caliber!

I picked this biography up on a whim, because I wanted a book to hold in my hands, instead of my iPad…WOW! John  Quincy saw so much world history live and in person, it is mind boggling! Were I in the classroom, I would require every high school student in America to read it. I’ll be reading this one again. Just think, this one person was President, held multiple Ambassadorships, served in the Senate, the House, turned down a nomination for the Supreme Court..

6 thoughts on “Book Review–John Quincy Adams

  1. Sounds fascinating! I love historical biographies. I remember when I was in elementary school I would head straight to the biography section on library day while the rest of the class would be looking at whatever “children’s books” were popular at the time. I may have even read John Quincy Adams biography, I can’t remember. The ones I do remember were Pocahontas, Amelia Earhart, and Eleanor Roosevelt. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The portrait on the cover of this book is in the MFA in Boston. Every time I go there, I spend a little time with John Q., John Adams, and Thomas Jefferson, all right there on the same wall. We need leaders like them. Have you read “Rise to Rebellion” by Jeffrey Shaara? It’s about the years leading up to the Declaration of Independence and I thought it was fabulous. I never really had a full appreciation for Independence Day before . . .

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

