Book Review–The Beekeeper’s Apprentice

beekeeperFirst, thank you Kerry from Love Those Hands at Home, who recommended this book. It is a winner! My only regret is that the volume that came up first from “on hold” land was the audio version. It was great to sew and listen, but I enjoyed this one so much that I may buy it so I can hold it in my hands and read it again and again. The  Beekeeper’s Apprentice by Laurie R. King, was published in 2010, so it’s been around awhile, but I had never seen it. 

The story is the first in a Sherlock Holmes series set during World War I. Mr. Holmes is now retired, but meets the precocious orphan Mary Russell. The story details their friendship, Mary’s subsequent training and a case or two that cements their friendship and collaboration. 

When they first meet, Mary is a gangly teenage with a smart mouth, and the story is told from her point of view, in first person. And yes, you will learn a little something about bees as well! There are more in this series, and I will be checking them out from my digital library, you can be sure!

2 thoughts on “Book Review–The Beekeeper’s Apprentice

Leave a Reply

