Fantastic Bake Along

Who doesn’t love fried chicken? Our recipe this month was a fried/baked chicken. Since there are only two of us at home these days, I opted to not bake, and did a total fry job. (Fewer pans to clean up!)

I adjusted the recipe for the two of us, and instead of putting the seasonings in the flour, I put them directly on the chicken. So garlic powder, salt, pepper and paprika, followed by the double dip in Tracy’s recipe. I have always double dipped my chicken and I think Β it really makes a difference!

Since I kept mine in the electric skillet, I did 10 minutes then flipped it; turned the heat down to 350 and covered it for 15-20 minutes; flipped it back, uncovered it and turned it back up to 375. When I have a full pan, I do 400-350-400, but it isn’t necessary with just 2-3 pieces in that skillet.

The recipe is a keeper, I like the addition of paprika and garlic. Next time I’m going to add thyme as well. That’s in my normal seasoning for chicken, but I was out so went “as written!”

Thanks Tracy for the great prompt. I am excited to see what others did with this great basic recipe!

Tracy

Brenna

Tami,

Emma

20 thoughts on “Fantastic Bake Along

    1. That thing is a wonder! It came with my pots and pans, but I never used it until my husband requested fried chicken when we were newlyweds. I said sure, hoping that my Betty Crocker cook book would save me and it had the directions and temps to use. He pronounced my chicken the best he’d ever had (MIL was the fried chicken queen) and it was only then that I confessed that was my first ever. Betty Crocker is amazing!!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

