Bagels, a Yummy Adventure

I noticed the bagel recipe right underneath the one for pizza dough last week, and thought it would be worth a try. The boiling part seems a bit scary, but it was really quite straight forward! If you’ve never tried bagels, and you like them, give it a whirl!

The recipe from my bread machine cookbook…though I have made plenty of these by hand with good result. Using the dough cycle:

1 2/3 cups water
1/4 cup sugar
2 teaspoons salt
5 cups flour
1 tablespoon active dry yeast

Remove the dough from the machine and punch down. DSCN0710

Divide it into 4 parts, and then each part into 3 pieces for a total of 12.DSCN0711

On a lightly floured surface, shape each dough into a smooth ball.DSCN0712

Punch a hole in the center with a finger, and pull dough gently to make a 1-2 inch hole.

While bagels are rising for 15-20 minutes, bring 2 quarts of water and 2 tablespoons of sugar to a low boil.

Place a few bagels at a time in the boiling water, simmering for 3 minutes, turning once. These are the same bagels at 0, and at 3 minutes.

Remove with a slotted spoon and place on a greased cookie sheet.

Brush tops with 1 slightly beaten egg white (I used the whole egg); sprinkle with poppy or sesame seeds.DSCN0722

Bake at 375 F for 20-25 minutes until golden brown.

DSCN0723

Remove from cookie sheet; and allow to cool.DSCN0725

Sure enough, they were soft and chewy goodness, especially with the cream cheese! I am already thinking about what I want to do with the next batch…cheese, cinnamon apple, raspberry, hmm…….

 

 

14 thoughts on “Bagels, a Yummy Adventure

    1. 😀 Yes, I had quite a run of “try this” over the past few days! Now the towels…those I made myself, because I loved my mom’s set, which had darling little Dutch girls. I have looked all over and never seen the pattern anywhere. When I found the flower transfers I made my own set.

      Like

      1. Your note just prompted me to look again…I’ve wanted a copy of my mom’s towels for years and have never found them. Today there is a set on ebay! Evidently the parttern was from the 40’s, and Simplicity reprinted it back in 1976….who knew! They are these darling little Dutch girls doing their daily chore. My days never match but it reminds me to change those towels more often!

        Like

  1. I tried bagels once and they came out okay – but did not look as yummy as yours!! I’ve done pretzels too which are very similar. Your bagels look scrumptious – I’ll bring the cream cheese and you can brew up a fresh pot of coffee!! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

