Fantastic Bake Along

Here we are, with the inaugural post for the Fantastic Bake Along, organized by Tracy of It’s a T Sweets Day! 

Our first recipe was released on Monday. We could make the recipe as is, or try something different,  reporting our results and posting pictures on Saturday. It’ going to great fun!

Our recipe this week was Tami’s favorite:  To Die for Blueberry Muffins—from allrecipes.com

Before I share my version, I should explain that sugar and I do not get along very well. I am pre-diabetic, because I had gestational diabetes with Girl#1, so I have been cautioned to not go overboard on the sweets. Some days I literally crave sugar, and on others the smell nearly makes me ill. Go figure! I have carb issues too, though they demonstrate themselves as a carb induced “coma” if I over indulge. That means I’ll be looking for ways to cut back on the sweet stuff each month.

So, for this month’s Bake-Along, I made the following changes:

In the muffin batter, I cut the sugar from 1 1/2 cups to 1/3 cup   😳 yes, you read correctly!!

For the topping, I cut everything in half, and swapped the granulated sugar for brown:  2 Tablespoons butter, 1/4 cup brown sugar, 2 1/2 Tablespoons of flour and 3/4 teaspoon of cinnamon.

I didn’t have blueberries, so used 1 cup of thawed raspberries instead.

Results: my batter was very thick, I might consider adding 1 Tablespoon of milk, unless everyone else reports a very thick batter as well. I did get 10 muffins instead of the projected 8.

Taste Test: I gave one to DH, and he immediately came back for more….as in 2 or 3! I thought that the streusel topping added plenty of sweetness, and the muffins were not tough, just more like the old fashioned kind your grandma might have made. I didn’t use papers, and I should have. My pan was pretty messy from the raspberries.

Brenna, Tami, Cathy, and  Melissa have indicated they may join us, along with our organizer, Tracy of course, so check their blogs, and see what their results were! If you want to join, just leave a comment with Tracy!

18 thoughts on “Fantastic Bake Along

    1. The famous blue onion ironstone! I bought them in 8th grade because I loved them and was “rich” from getting a $1 a day to milk cows or feed calves…..I guess now they qualify as antiques, though there’s not much left. A few lunch plates, the sugar bowl and cup/saucers. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    1. This made a small batch which helps! I usually put half in the freezer, they defrost nicely in the microwave when someone drops by. 😀 I have to ration myself, and boy do I feel it on those days when I don’t!

      Like

    1. That would be fun! I was surprised I could cut the sugar back so far, and with butter leaving the streusel topping off would be OK as well. This is a good stretcher for me, but now I have to do the extra exercise to compensate!!!😆

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I like the adjustments you made on the crumbly topping – I ended up with a lot leftover and nothing to use it on when I followed the original recipe! Yours look delicious! I love the way that the raspberries just kind of melted into the muffin! Mine did exaclty the same thing! I didn’t double the recipe and it made 6 Jumbo muffins which it the perfect amount for my house. Hubby ate a couple plus my leftover half a muffin and the rest will be wrapped up and sent home with my son tomorrow. Have a wonderful Easter! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. They look great! I had a very thick batter as well, but I think that’s what helps it rise and not sink back down in the center like some muffin recipes have done to me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

