SAL April 2

First of all, we have two new members! Welcome Mary Margaret and Tim! As always there is a wide variety of projects happening with this group; I encourage you to check out the  other sites to see what we ware all working on!

AvisClaireGunCaroleLucyAnnKateJessSueConstanzeDebbieroseChristinaSusan,   MargaretCindyHelenStephLindaCatherine, Wendy, Mary Margaret and Timothy
For my report this round, I have a finish! Last time we checked in, I was here:


And here is the finished piece! I framed it yesterday and gave it to my husband as an early anniversary present. After 28 years we are both a little weathered, but still standing strong!

This is from a series called American Barns found in three issues of Cross Stitch & Country Crafts dated September 1992 through January 1993. This is the western barn, which is perfect for DH, because he was a summer rangelands technician in the Flat Tops Mountains of western Colorado during college.

To represent me, I’ll stitch the Midwestern barn, which reminds me of the barn at my uncle Thor’s in northern Minnesota. He and his brothers built it themselves with their dad in 1906, when they immigrated from Stavanger Norway. We had no big barn on our place, the milk barn was built in the 40’s and had no charm, though I do remember falling asleep with a newborn calf or two back in the day.

Afraid you can’t see much yet!😉


41 thoughts on “SAL April 2

  1. Congrats on the finish! Wow and framed already too 😀 Such a lovely story behind your stitching. Love the little birds and I love the coloring technique this pattern designed. The frame and mat are perfect! Did you frame it yourself?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is a beautiful finish. I remember stitching this design when it first came out in the magazine. it now hangs on my mother’s wall in the hallway. the series of the barns is fantastic. i still have them floating around somewhere. Congrats!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

