Book Review – Radio Girls

This historical novel, by Sarah-Jane Stratford captures a bit of the flavor of the post WWI era and the beginnings of the BBC. I was intrigued by the the subject, and am always willing to give a historical novel a try. I am an avid library user, both books and e-books, so I’ll give most things a go.

I enjoyed the story, and the history, and appreciated Stratford’s note at the back outlining where she went “novel,” and where she stuck to straight history. I think her current sensibilities filtered some of what she wrote, but it was still an enjoyable, relaxing read, which was perfect for me this week.

If I see other stories by this author, I’ll at least read the book jacket to see if I’m interested. I think the topic will be more of a draw than the author, but I could be wrong!

Leave a Reply

