Book Review–Wool

This book…I didn’t like the beginning at all, but thought I’d give it a few more pages…then I was hooked. Hugh Howey writes about a dystopian society where things are just not quite right…it eventually untangles itself, and there is another book or two in the series if you want more. I found the ending much more satisfying than the beginning, and have put the second book in my queue so it will check out when it becomes available.

I don’t want to give the story away, but will provide a little bit of background. Everyone lives in a giant silo, and you can’t go outside. There are no elevators, so the stairs and levels are integral to the story. Though I can’t say I was 100% invested, I really wanted to know what was going on, and how things would end. A little bit of mystery, a little bit of thriller, (but not too scary)and the age old struggle of mankind to make choices that are not selfish. This is not my usual genre, but a good winter read. I’ll decide if I really like this author once I pick up the second one. The suspense is good, the characters could be better developed, but it was a nice change of pace, an adventure!

4 thoughts on “Book Review–Wool

  1. Definitely piqued my interest. I have come across a few books that were a somewhat of a struggle to ‘get into’ but progressed to the point where finishing was enjoyable. Further exploration on this one is on my agenda. Thanks!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

