Splendid Sampler 51-60

Another batch of challenging, yet fun blocks here. I never really thought I would possibly catch up with the group, but I counted it out yesterday, and if I manage another batch this week, I might actually do it.

Though the journey has been quick, I was thinking about the techniques I have learned during this process. I finally have a decent back stitch, which I intend to use on some wedding gifts in the near future; I know how to paper piece, though I still manage to turn one piece wrong every time; I have experienced English Paper Piecing, though I have a lot of practice ahead before I would call myself proficient. Because of all the triangles in the wedding quilts, and now here, I have actually gotten pretty good at knowing when to sew on the line or to take a scant 1/4 inch seam. I know that I prefer the completed look of freezer paper appliqué to the iron on method, and want to get more experience with needle turn. My only wish with the Splendid designers, is that for their block they would highlight their chosen method of appliqué, so that I could get a better handle on the intricacies of each method.


 

8 thoughts on “Splendid Sampler 51-60

Leave a Reply

