Almost a Quilt!

Well, actually it IS a quilt, just not quite finished. The weekend was a long one, and I had sore shoulders to prove it after man handling this thing around all day Saturday and part of Sunday!  Saturday marked 7 sewing days until the big event, so I was definitely motivated. Friday afternoon was spent sandwiching the quilt, so the only thing missing by late afternoon was a plan for the quilting phase.

During my visit to The Quilt Connection to purchase the backing fabric, I also picked up binding fabric and some sulky embroidery cotton in “Autumn.” It looked a little scary with all those colors, but I really thought I needed a little more pop in all those neutral squares. I had lugged the quilt into the shop to be certain of my color choices, and the ladies there were great help, but were split as to whether the variegated thread  was the way to go. All I could do was go home and try it. However, before I could try anything, I had to practice my design, with a pencil. A lot.

Multiple repetitions. It was ugly. Don’t believe me…I have proof! Actually, I don’t, the picture here was my best page out of about 12, front and back, some with a second round using a different color. This is why I love counted cross stitch. If you mind the details the result is expected.  I slogged away throughout the evening, and early Saturday morning, I took my practice piece, and went for it, AFTER a super duper machine cleaning with the lint brush, etc. I had no intention of suffering through another round of tension catastrophe with this baby! I was surprised that things went so well. In fact, I was shocked!  It was a long, but productive morning, and here’s a preview of how things turned out….


Part A accomplished, on to the sashing, which I probably should have done first, but I wasn’t sure what to do. I settled on loops to go with the main blocks and then called it a day, because I didn’t know what to do for the outside sashing.

Sunday morning I woke up with a plan! I wrote all the way around the quilt, with some loops added here and there:  “Meghan and Tyler wed November 6, 2016  For I know the plans I have for you declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you. Plans to give you hope and a future. Jeremiah 29:11.” I still had room so I finished it with “For this reason a man shall leave his father and mother  and the two shall become one.  That got me all the way around the outside.  I did all the sashing in dark maroon thread, so if you know to look you can just make it out. NO way my stitch writing is ready for close inspection!

That problem solved, I was ready to meander my way through the appliqué, using neutral thread, all the time wondering what on earth to do with the last two borders. I finally settled for stitch in the ditch on the triangles, and decided to revisit my little flower motif on the last border.  Whew! For me, the most stressful part of a quilt is designing the quilting …but then, maybe you noticed that while reading some slightly obsessive quilting post……:)

So, as of about 8 pm last evening, the quilting was complete. On to the binding!

 

6 thoughts on “Almost a Quilt!

    1. Thanks Claire! I am really happy with the variegated thread too, it doesn’t overwhelm, but without It, I am afraid the simple star blocks would seem out of balance with the borders. I haven’t laid it out for the whole effect yet, but I’m pretty sure that will be the case.

      Like

    1. Oh thank you….it is definitely a work in progress. I think after doing these flowers I am ready to attempt feathers. I am NOT good at this, so have to keep it very informal and unstructured!

      Like

Leave a Reply

