I Need to Knit!

I have been sewing and sewing and sewing this summer. My hands are itching to knit. I tried to keep the itch under control by completing some socks, but now this itch has gotten completely out of control!

image
I think that the top foot is a 1/4 inch shorter than the bottom, but the angle makes it look huge!

I believe this desperation was fueled by the 160 flower appliques that had to be turned and ironed for the wedding quilt, which is in progress. I even listened to the Aeneid  and Portrait of a Lady during this long and daunting task, in an attempt to keep keep the boredom at bay, (and to expand my mind with classic literature-that’s another post) but when my box from Knitpicks arrived, I nearly lost it! Suddenly, the sock (and those darn flowers) needed to be done, and something Substantial and YARNY started.

In addition to my leftover wool stash, I also have a basket of odds and ends, mostly acrylic from a variety of projects over the years.  (Not really very interesting.)  As for my new additions…the white and aqua will be my rendition of the peace sweater by Dale of Norway, the cranberry is a lovely cotton for a cardigan a la Catherine’s Wheel and the blue and cream is going to be some dish cloths. So who wouldn’t be tempted beyond reason looking at all of this wool and cotton goodness!

imageMy Substantial YARNY project is actually coming from my old stash. I have lots of colors here, all suitable for the tall boot socks that my hubby loves, however, they really aren’t meant to be machine washed, so I wanted to reduce this stash and eventually replace it with some machine washable DK. The current project is going to be a sweater for hubby. He isn’t super keen on Norwegian style knitting, (too busy, he says) but they are warm and he will eventually need one. I think he will end up wearing this a lot in the evenings at home, and who knows, he may wear it out and about as well. I’m using current, khaki, green and navy, though I haven’t worked out how the green and navy will go yet.

I am using one of my Norsk patterns, so am translating as I go. Google translate has come a long way in the past two years. I last attempted to use it to translate a crocheting pattern, and I had lots of trouble with the specific crocheting terms. This however, has gone smoothly, and I am delighted to see that I can still make out the gist of things! No surprises yet.

imageStarting this sweater, even though progress will be limited, and very slow, makes my fingers very happy. I am not pining to start my peace sweater, not one bit, now that I have something on my needles. And, it is a welcome relief from my sewing machine some days! In fact, it has actually encouraged me to keep on sewing, knowing that I have something started on my knitting needles.

And, for the curious, the Aeneid (/ᵻˈniːɪd/; Latin: Aeneis [ae̯ˈneːɪs]) is a Latin epic poem, written by Virgil between 29 and 19 BC, that tells the legendary story of Aeneas, a Trojan who travelled to Italy, where he became the ancestor of the Romans.  What can I say, my youngest is a classics major, a mom has to keep up, though mine was in English!

2 thoughts on “I Need to Knit!

  1. I can really understand the need to move from all those flowers to the knitting! I love having very different projects available to work on so, when one becomes just too tedious, it’s easy to shift gears.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

